3rd print on my Simple Metal

Discuss your first ever printrbot print

Postby carlos » 2015-May-Fri-16-May

Hello ladies and gents, I'm new to the 3d printing world and I've been reading through the forum to get some insight on my new printrbot SM. I've followed the getting started and z-calibration guides on PB site, but I still think I need more information on how to get it to print better.

This is the third print I did, a filament holder. As you can see in the picture, there are small tendrils of plastic sticking out from the print. I was thinking that maybe the temp was set to high. I'm using Cura as my slicer and black PLA filament from inland. Originally I started at 200 degrees, but dropped it down to 195.

IMG_3471.JPG

The second issue are the side walls are actually showing the ridges of the infill. Is there a setting that I should be using, is there another method of calibration that I need to do?

Thanks ahead for any information, so far I'm liking the printer and looking forward to seeing what else I can do and learn.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Printrbot Simple Metal (using Rev F board) with E3D hot-end and heated bed.
carlos
Levelling print bed...

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: 3rd print on my Simple Metal

Postby lairdb » 2015-May-Fri-17-May

I'm not far ahead of you, but: what are your retraction settings, print speed, and travel speed? In re. the infill ridges, what is your outer wall thickness?

Simple Metal Kit, heated bed
Mods: blower fan with self-remixed blower duct
Usually PLA on kapton with AquaNet.
Usually Cura.
lairdb
Waiting for extruder temp...

Postby carlos » 2015-May-Fri-22-May

Hey @lairdb, thanks for the help. I never changed any stock settings. To be honest not really sure what to change, but this is what's listed.

retraction:
speed: 30mm/s
distance: 1

Print speed: 40mm/s

Speed:
travel speed: 70mm/s
bottom layer speed 35mm/s

shell thickness 0.8mm

carlos
Levelling print bed...