Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Discuss your first ever printrbot print

Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby sebi9 » 2015-Mar-Sat-03-Mar

Hello,

with G28 X0 Y0 , it works well to home X and Y axis,

But for Z axis : G28 X0 Y0 Z0 it just goes higher and higher

So, when I print, It prints 2 cms above the level.

With G29, it goes higher too.

Could you help me?

ps :
Z axis is in the right sense on the printrboard (checked twice with pictures on the website), and probe sensor is working well.

Thank you!
  • 0

sebi9
Loading filament...
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2015-Feb-Thu-02-Feb
Reputation: 0

Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby frankv » 2015-Mar-Sat-04-Mar

You have a broken wire between the Z sensor and the Printboard.
  • 0

frankv
First blob a success!
 
Posts: 519
Joined: 2015-Jan-Thu-12-Jan
Reputation: 18

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby sebi9 » 2015-Mar-Sat-05-Mar

even if the light works well on the sensor?

Other question : if I put more slowly the printing speed, do I need to put the extrusion speed lower?
  • 0

sebi9
Loading filament...
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2015-Feb-Thu-02-Feb
Reputation: 0

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby frankv » 2015-Mar-Sat-05-Mar

sebi9 wrote:even if the light works well on the sensor?


Yes.

Other question : if I put more slowly the printing speed, do I need to put the extrusion speed lower?


Sorry, I don't know.
  • 0

frankv
First blob a success!
 
Posts: 519
Joined: 2015-Jan-Thu-12-Jan
Reputation: 18

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby RetireeJay » 2015-Mar-Sat-06-Mar

sebi9 wrote:Other question : if I put more slowly the printing speed, do I need to put the extrusion speed lower?


No. The actual extrusion speed is always calculated by the firmware, based on the printing speed, the filament diameter, the layer height, and the trace width (and the Extrusion Multiplier). When you specify an Extrusion Speed in the EEPROM, that's really just a Maximum Allowed speed.

The firmware always figures out which speed is the limiting one (if a Maximum Allowed is reached) and then calculates the other speeds to conform.

If you suspect under-extrusion or over-extrusion, you should check your Extruder Calibration (steps per mm) and the Filament Diameter that you are using in your slicer (it's best to measure the average filament diameter with digital calipers). Then, if necessary, adjust the Extrusion Multiplier.
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 4935
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 495

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby Mooselake » 2015-Mar-Sat-11-Mar

For a test you can manually set the Z position with the power off (like rest the extruder on a piece of copier paper somewhere around the center of the bed), comment out the G29 and any reference to homing Z (like Z0 on a G28), and try to print.

The firmware will assume that the Z position at power on is Z0 (that's how you print without any home switches). You can't compensate for a tilted bed, but it'll help you figure out what's broke, and might get you going until you can sort out the probe issue and/or get a replacement. It could be worth a try.

Kirk
  • 0

Modified KickStarter Classic Plus 7/2012
KS Thingybot Delta Pro 10/31/16
User avatar
Mooselake
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 3583
Joined: 2011-Dec-Tue-23-Dec
Location: Moose Swamp, Upper Michigan, USA
Reputation: 172

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby 2Mylent » 2015-Mar-Sat-11-Mar

To know if this comes from the Z-Probe technician Printrbot made me do:
1) M119 for the state of EndStop (note the results)
2) disconnect switch Y
3) cabler Z-Probe on the Y connector
4) M119 again (compare with previous results)
  • 0

Printrbot Simle Metal + Upgrade Heatbed / Upgrade E3D v6 / Simplify3D / Win7 64bits
http://www.2mylent.fr/Helicos/
FRANCE
User avatar
2Mylent
Waiting for extruder temp...
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2015-Feb-Tue-16-Feb
Location: France
Reputation: 0

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby sebi9 » 2015-Mar-Sun-04-Mar

It's OK, I use it before Y stop. I remove G28 and G29 on cura, I begin at the right level, and I do a skirt while I adjust manually the Z height to be at the exact height. It works well.
  • 0

sebi9
Loading filament...
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2015-Feb-Thu-02-Feb
Reputation: 0

Re: Home Z axis just go higher and higher. X and Y OK

Postby Mooselake » 2015-Mar-Sun-12-Mar

Open a ticket with the place you bought it from, and get a new probe under warranty.

Kirk
  • 0

Modified KickStarter Classic Plus 7/2012
KS Thingybot Delta Pro 10/31/16
User avatar
Mooselake
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 3583
Joined: 2011-Dec-Tue-23-Dec
Location: Moose Swamp, Upper Michigan, USA
Reputation: 172


Return to My first blob

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests