First Print on PB Jr v2 with new board

Discuss your first ever printrbot print

Postby djsloanau » 2014-Feb-Thu-08-Feb

Hello, I ordered my Printrbot Jr (V2) kit back in January. After a few weeks waiting, it arrived and I started painting and assembly. After 4 days it was all finished and ready to go, but as soon as I plugged it in, I knew there was something wrong as I could not get the driver to load. After much time spent messing about in hyperspace, I determined that the USB cable was faulty, and then found that the printrboard was also faulty (while attempting a reflash, the board failed the blank test). So I asked for a replacement, and it arrived today.

After rebuilding and verifying that all cables were in the correct plug and orientation, I nervously plugged it in and went through the getting started procedure. YAY, IT WORKED. So the faulty board shouldn't have been because of anything I did.

Ok onto the first print. after homing, setting up and testing, I downloaded the 5mm calibration cube from Thingiverse http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:24238. I ran it through slic3r and it came up with 80+ layers (84 I think), I started the print run and it waited until the bed and extruder were up to temperature, then it proceeded to print the first layers. From watching these I could see that the bed was lower at the back than at the front (I only did a rough level, enough to make sure the head wouldn't dig into the bed) but after the 2nd layer it was running fine. Then on layer 17, the printer just stopped moving, the time due on completion stopped at 15 mins 33 secs. It kept extruding for a short time, but then just didn't do anything. After a couple of minutes I hit cancel and powered everything off from the Repetier panel and shut it down. Does anyone have any idea what happened? It was going so well and there doesn't seem to be any reason for it. I have attached some photos.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.