Plastic.

Plastic.

Postby gandyo001 » 2014-Mar-Wed-11-Mar

Hey newbie here. Where is the best place for good inexpensive pla? I am a poor teacher so the better price but I do want good plastic.

gandyo001
Waiting to connect to printer...

Plastic.

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Plastic.

Postby EddB » 2014-Mar-Wed-11-Mar

I buy it on amazon using my free prime member shipping. On average I buy 2.2lbs (1kg) rolls for $28. Last couplw rolls I bought 2.6lbs (1.18kg) for $30. I really like this stuff and it I like the smell of it. Lots of dealers offer free shipping even without the prime shipping, so that is my go-to place.

Complete printable 1405 Simple https://www.youmagine.com/designs/compl ... s-edition/ or thing:425164

True Wireless Slicing and Printer Cloud+Web Server w/ AstroPrint PcDuino v2

Printrbot Simple 1405 with XL bed and
Printrbot Simple 1311 Printing ABS andPLA on kapton/borosilicate glass
Printrbot XL volume / tower upgrade GT2 X Timing Belts (thing:194686) GT2 Y Timing Belt Mod (thing:194586)
Custom 320 x 230mm aluminum bed frame w/ 3 x 8mm rods
430 watt ATX power upgrade for 8.5" heat bed via SSR
EddB
ACME leadscrew

Postby kbowen99 » 2014-Dec-Wed-11-Dec

A great place where I've gotten some plastic from is PushPlastic ($29 a kg, free shipping). Just keep in mind it has a really low melting point (180C)! Makerbot makes really nice plastic (insanely nice at 205C), but it is a little expensive ($48 for 2lbs). Printrbot has pretty good plastic at the normal price of $30 a kg, it is good plastic but shipping makes it overpriced (at least for me). if you have amazon prime, it may be worth looking into, but be careful where you order from on amazon.

kbowen99
Loading filament...

Postby KD6HQ » 2014-Dec-Wed-12-Dec

If you are looking for PLA for personal use, then you might try this.
I'm using it now and seems to work ok.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/301350446198?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT

I live in Calif. so with tax it was $20.47 delivered. Delivery was quick.