First time noob in need of help calibrating and such

Problems with your print or projects? talk here

Postby rangua » 2013-Aug-Wed-19-Aug

Hi, i'm an all time noob in the world of 3d printing.
I have ordered an assembled printrbot simple and it arrived yesterday, and so far i'm liking it. There are a few issues that confuse me and maybe you guys can point me out in the right direction.

First thing's first, i'm working with a printrbot simple and 1.75mm PLA. The extruder is set to 190 on the first layer and 185 on the rest. My bed is a wooden one with masking tape over it (can't find the blue one, but it sticks just fine)

- The first thing i've noticed is that after a print, the head will go "Home", except that it ends up a few cm away from it (on every axis) so that the first print would be centered, the second one a bit more to the corner, etc.. and the Z axis just makes it all a mess. My fix to this is to adjust manually the extruder head every time i finish a job, but i think there should be a proper way of doing this.. It feels unproper to twist the z axis threaded rod by hand to adjust the z axis.

- I've tried printing a calibration cube steps and a yoda head. On both i find that on the corners of each layer (specially the ones higher up) the plastic tends to warp up. On the cube it's barely noticeable, but on the yoda head it made the filament drop out at certain points in the cheek. Am i extruding too much? too little? too hot? maybe i need a fan or something to cool it off faster? so many things to calibrate :?

Any help on these two points would be greatly appreciated. Here are some pics of the prints so you can get an idea of what's going on. Now i'm gonna start measuring the cubes and try to calibrate the axes.
btw, the yoda head suffered an abrupt stop because the lights went out in the middle of the print.. is there a way to resume the print when this happens?

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.