problems with first layer

Problems with your print or projects? talk here

Postby friederich » 2016-Jan-Sat-14-Jan

I am new to 3d printing. I have a printrbot simple metal with a heated bed. I'm trying to print out a phone case and the first layer of this is essentially a big (slightly rounded) rectangle. I'm not happy with my first layer. Other layers are printing fine and I already have a passable phone case but I'd like to see if I can do any better.

As you can see from the pictures, the first layer is fine in places, but distorted in places. If the distortion occurs at the edge then I get adhesion issues. The distortion can occur with brims too.

I have tried several things but given that this is my first time I am not able to diagnose the problem and I'd appreciate some suggestions.

I have tried changing the nozzle temp (200 and 210, I'm using glow in the dark PLA), and recalibrating Z (M212 Z(blah) M500 etc), but in each case I am not even clear about whether I should be going up or down. I've also tried moving the print around the bed before slicing. I'm reluctant to start fiddling with the spanners to adjust the sensor height, unless someone convinces me that this is worth trying.

Fred

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Printrbot simple metal with heated bed
Cura 15.04.4 on ubuntu 14.04
Octopi
friederich
Waiting to connect to printer...

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: problems with first layer

Postby cacb » 2016-Jan-Sat-17-Jan

Very good pictures. I am not 100% certain, but it looks like a case of "bulldozing", too much extrusion causing the hot end to work like a bulldozer through previously laid plastic. If so, the fix is to reduce amount of extruded material. Did you measure the diameter of the filament? This is one important thing that can cause over extrusion. Fix that issue first and print small test cubes until ok.