[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4693: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4695: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4696: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4697: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
Printrbot Talk Forum • View topic - Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Discussions about CAD use and designing

Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Postby Ggalisky » 2014-Jun-Sun-21-Jun

I am using autodesk inventor 2014 and when export my files into .stl they are scaled way down. Anyone else experiencing this?
  • 0

Ggalisky
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-Jun-Sun-09-Jun
Reputation: 0

Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Postby RetireeJay » 2014-Jun-Sun-21-Jun

Keep track of your units. CAD programs work in generic "units" that mean what you tell them to mean. Inches, millimeters, meters, furlongs, light-years; a unit is a unit; the core design software is units-agnostic. But if you design in inches and then try to print in millimeters you'll get an object only 1/25.4 the size you expected. Fortunately, there are options in most CAD programs to convert the STL file to millimeters. Or you can "Scale" in Slic3r to convert from inches to mm. (The whole body of software for the Printrbot works in mm, so don't try to force it to work with anything else.)
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3, upgraded to MK3S
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 5014
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 498

Re: Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Postby marmil » 2014-Jun-Sun-22-Jun

I initially was working in inches since that's what I've always worked in before getting into 3d printing, but shortly just decided to switch and do all my modeling for 3d printing in mm since it makes exporting and importing much simpler between the different 3d printer related softwares.

(Digital calipers that can switch back and forth between inches/mm with a button push are great! And I got myself a new tape measure with both inches and mm to help myself adapt. :roll: :lol: )

If you're loading STL files in Repetier Host double check your import settings under: Config -> Units of Imported Objects
  • 0

+ [color=#BF0000]•
User avatar
marmil
Honeycomb infill 25%...
 
Posts: 284
Joined: 2011-Dec-Sat-14-Dec
Location: Glendale, California
Reputation: 6

Re: Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Postby jeffro » 2014-Jun-Mon-09-Jun

Harbor freight has a decent ditital caliper that does metric and inches for around 10 bucks. I picked one up about a month back and its been great. Compared it to the nice dial calipers we have at school and its probably more accurate.

It seems everything in the CNC/3D printing world is metric, so i just learned to adapt.
  • 0

jeffro
Loading filament...
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 2014-May-Sat-11-May
Reputation: 0

Re: Scaling problems with Autodesk inventor

Postby bck » 2014-Jun-Thu-00-Jun

When using export after selecting .stl as filetype,
there's an "options" button, in that menu set your units to what you used when creating your part (I guess it's set to cm, and you'll have to set it to mm)
  • 0

bck
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2014-Jun-Thu-00-Jun
Reputation: 0


Return to CAD & design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron