Bending / Forming a STL?

Discussions about CAD use and designing

Bending / Forming a STL?

Postby Jon Lawrence » 2014-Apr-Wed-12-Apr

I am working on a project for mothers day where I want to make a lithophane votive candle holder. I have successfully generated flat (4mm thick) lithophanes from photos in stl format (which print beautifully). Now I want to take those stl's and wrap them around either a cylinder or more of a spherical shape to create the votive. I would typically use Solidworks to deform the parts to the desired shape, but Soildworks SUCKS at manipulating large stl files, and I have to severely reduce the triangle count (MeshLab) to under 20,000 triangles just to bring them in.

Is there a free software out there (with a minimal learning curve) that will allow me to bend a stl around a specific shape/curve?

Blender comes to mind but I have no experience with it, nor do I know that it will do what I want.

Printrbot Simple V2 born 10/2013 and constantly upgrading.
http://www.thingiverse.com/iamjonlawrence
Jon Lawrence
Calibration mode.

Bending / Forming a STL?

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Bending / Forming a STL?

Postby evanalmighty » 2014-Apr-Wed-13-Apr

I thought solidworks has a steep learning curve, but blender is on a whole other level. I too am looking for a good stl editor.

evanalmighty
Layer 650 of 1234

Postby Jon Lawrence » 2014-Apr-Wed-13-Apr

evanalmighty wrote:I thought solidworks has a steep learning curve, but blender is on a whole other level. I too am looking for a good stl editor.

SolidWorks is actually very intuitive. That is a huge bonus. Learn a couple basics, then poke around from there and things tend to work as you would think they should. My benefit, I use SolidWorks all day every day for the past 10 years or so. Blender is NOT intuitive at all. I poked around a bit but never really had the time to invest.

Jon Lawrence
Calibration mode.

Postby plexus » 2014-Apr-Wed-14-Apr