G-code delay of minutes

Code hacking talk

G-code delay of minutes

Postby donde » 2014-Jul-Wed-15-Jul

In using an SD card with G-code on it, I would like to do this using my Simple 2014 with Upgrade Kit.
Upon powering up, turn on extruder heater, wait till it reaches printing temperature, but then wait even longer maybe up to 10 minutes.
Then continue with the normal print script, calibrating the bed level sensor, etc. That way the expanding nozzle would be included like it was
in the final sensor calibration. I don't know if a delay G-code exists, and if not I would drop the idea.
  • 0

donde
I'm an end stop.
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2014-May-Sat-19-May
Reputation: 0

G-code delay of minutes

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: G-code delay of minutes

Postby RetireeJay » 2014-Jul-Wed-15-Jul

The M109 command is used to give the hot end a setpoint temperature, and the 'bot will wait until the setpoint temperature is reached and stabilized (plus 10 seconds). If you put two or three M109 commands all in a row at the beginning of your code (say, setting the hot end to 150, then to 250, then to 150, and then to your desired printing temperature) then you will get the hot end warmed up for a fairly significant time before anything else happens.
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 477

Re: G-code delay of minutes

Postby donde » 2014-Jul-Wed-20-Jul

The M109 command is used to give the hot end a setpoint temperature



Thanks Jay, This is what I've been looking for.

Off topic, sorry
Another question, probably a dumb one. Can I convert an .stl back to openSCAD if an openSCAD file .scad is not listed? I know lots of Things on Thingiverse are shown in openSCAD also, but if not, can it be done?
  • 0

donde
I'm an end stop.
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2014-May-Sat-19-May
Reputation: 0

Re: G-code delay of minutes

Postby thawkins » 2014-Jul-Thu-04-Jul

G4 Pn Wait n miliseconds
G4 Sn Wait n seconds
  • 0

Jonbot+
225mm x 200mm - Heated Bed
RAMPS 1.4 running Marlin 1.1.0
Full Graphic display.
-------------------------------
Zen Toolworks CNC/3d printer
230mmx360mm bed
Dual j-head hotends.
Dual heated beds.
RAMPS 1.4 running Marlin 0.98
-------------------------------
Flashforge 3d Creator Pro
Dual Extruder
220x143x150mm
Mightyboard rev e, runnimg Sailfish 7.7r1234
-------------------------------
Photon, self designed printed printer.
User avatar
thawkins
Print winner 2nd
Print winner 2nd
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: 2013-Aug-Sun-10-Aug
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reputation: 172

Re: G-code delay of minutes

Postby donde » 2014-Jul-Thu-08-Jul

THANK YOU! Even easier than I thought.
  • 0

donde
I'm an end stop.
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 2014-May-Sat-19-May
Reputation: 0

Re: G-code delay of minutes

Postby Mooselake » 2014-Jul-Thu-08-Jul

No. At not without a whole lot of manual effort.

However, you can read an stl file with openSCAD and then modify it, if that's what you're after. It'll require some programming, and take some time if you don't have a programming background. I'd recommend starting by reading the openSCAD documentation and tutorials (and trying them) first. If you go that route you'll decide somewhere in the process that you can't do it, and banging on your head with a hammer is more fun. Ignore those feelings; you can, and it's eventually more fun than the head/hammer thing, and leave fewer physical scars.

Kirk

donde wrote:Another question, probably a dumb one. Can I convert an .stl back to openSCAD if an openSCAD file .scad is not listed? I know lots of Things on Thingiverse are shown in openSCAD also, but if not, can it be done?
  • 0

Modified KickStarter Classic Plus 7/2012
KS Thingybot Delta Pro 10/31/16
User avatar
Mooselake
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 3509
Joined: 2011-Dec-Tue-23-Dec
Location: Moose Swamp, Upper Michigan, USA
Reputation: 170


Return to Hack talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests