How can I find the right files on Github?

Code hacking talk

Postby RetireeJay » 2013-Jul-Tue-14-Jul

As far as software modification goes, consider me an absolute newbie. Or even before and below that level ;) The last time I burned new software into an EPROM it was a 2K UV-erasable chip, and I wrote ALL of the code that went into it -- in Assembly. Decades ago.

But... I am thinking of trying to hook up independent motor controllers for my Z axis. And I think the best way to do it would be to redefine three of the pins that are wired to a header already on the board, and use external Pololu motor drivers.

<Aside> Why? I discovered that when I have only one motor connected (the carriage supported out of the way) that I can run the motor up to a speed of 20mm/sec whereas with both motors connected I can't go above 5mm/sec. This is with the motors wired either in parallel or in series. I did cut one of the microstepping jumpers so I'm using 4 microsteps instead of 16 so as not to overload the microprocessor sending out gazillions of step pulses, but the actual speed I could realize at the motors didn't change a bit! </Aside>

So, I go browsing through the software and find this file in PxT's Marlin github site: https://github.com/PxT/Marlin/blob/master/Marlin/pins.h

I have the schematic for the board in front of me, and it shows the Z axis controller pins as follows:
Z-STEP = Pin 47 = PA4-AD4
Z-DIR = Pin 46 = PA5-AD5
Z-ENABLE = Pin 42 = PC7_A15_IC3_CLK0

But in pins.h, I can't find anyplace where the same pin definitions are used. There are several variants (I guess for different board types) but never this one. (I have a standard Printrboard from PB, running standard software for the PB Plus.)

So if I wanted to make a change to the Z pin definitions, how would I do it? What lines in pins.h would I need to modify?

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys