Flash firmware

Talk about using software tools, drivers etc

Flash firmware

Postby bbrown64 » 2015-Jun-Wed-04-Jun

I downloaded and installed FLIP 3.4.7 so that I could flash my firmware. However, when I tried to open the software. I received a error code 2. I uninstalled the software and reinstalled it, but that did not help. Does anyone know how to fix this error. Without Flip 3.4.7 I can not flash the firmware.
  • 0

Bill Brown
Tulsa, OK
User avatar
bbrown64
Layer 300 of 1234
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2015-Mar-Thu-14-Mar
Reputation: 5

Flash firmware

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Flash firmware

Postby RetireeJay » 2015-Jun-Wed-06-Jun

What kind of computer are you using, and what's the Operating System?
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3, upgraded to MK3S
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 5014
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 498

Re: Flash firmware

Postby bbrown64 » 2015-Jun-Fri-09-Jun

I use a Windows 7 64 bit computer.
  • 0

Bill Brown
Tulsa, OK
User avatar
bbrown64
Layer 300 of 1234
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2015-Mar-Thu-14-Mar
Reputation: 5

Re: Flash firmware

Postby RetireeJay » 2015-Jun-Fri-10-Jun

I think that Flip requires the COM port emulator (teensy) to be installed, just like the Cura and Repetier do (in versions of Windows earlier than 8.1).
Does Flip connect to the Printrbot? Maybe you need to explicitly tell it what COM port to use. You can find this in Device Manager, under Ports.
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3, upgraded to MK3S
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 5014
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 498

Re: Flash firmware

Postby bbrown64 » 2015-Jun-Sat-04-Jun

Jay, I got FLIP to open. I had to use REVO uninstall tool, to remove all files associated with FLIP. I installed FLIP and it did open, this time. So I will flash my firmware this weekend. I assume the only reason to flash the firmware is because of the different thermistor that E3D-V6 uses is different than the stock Simple Metal thermistor. Is it true if I were to use a stock thermistor I would not have to flash the firmware?
  • 0

Bill Brown
Tulsa, OK
User avatar
bbrown64
Layer 300 of 1234
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2015-Mar-Thu-14-Mar
Reputation: 5

Re: Flash firmware

Postby RetireeJay » 2015-Jun-Sat-08-Jun

Yes, that's true. Plexus did that. He had to drill the "well" for the thermistor out to a slightly larger diameter to accommodate the different size bead.
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3, upgraded to MK3S
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 5014
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 498

Re: Flash firmware

Postby bbrown64 » 2015-Jun-Sun-07-Jun

Jay, I was thinking about using a thermocouple to replace the thermistor. Do you think it would be a better choice instead of the thermistor?
  • 0

Bill Brown
Tulsa, OK
User avatar
bbrown64
Layer 300 of 1234
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2015-Mar-Thu-14-Mar
Reputation: 5

Re: Flash firmware

Postby RetireeJay » 2015-Jun-Sun-16-Jun

A thermocouple is an entirely different technology. You would need a "signal conditioner" to translate the millivolt-range signal from the thermocouple into the volt-range signal for the Printrboard, and then you'd also need to use a different temperature table in the firmware.
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3, upgraded to MK3S
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 5014
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 498

Re: Flash firmware

Postby bbrown64 » 2015-Jun-Tue-13-Jun

Sounds to complicated for me. I will simply buy a spare thermistor from E3D.
  • 0

Bill Brown
Tulsa, OK
User avatar
bbrown64
Layer 300 of 1234
 
Posts: 308
Joined: 2015-Mar-Thu-14-Mar
Reputation: 5


Return to Software usage talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests