How to use @pause in Repetier [SOLVED]

Talk about using software tools, drivers etc

How to use @pause in Repetier [SOLVED]

Postby RetireeJay » 2016-Jun-Wed-11-Jun

I've got a project where I want to pause the print precisely where it ends one layer, before it starts the next layer. It's the kind of thing where you might want to pause the print to insert a "buried" or "hidden" metal nut, for example. I was trying this out on a very small sample just to prove the concept, but the @Pause command didn't seem to be working.

Here's what I was trying to use:
Code: Select all
G1 X87.526 Y99.536 E0.40047 F494.522 ; infill
G1 E0.10047 F30000.00000 ; retract
@Pause Paused
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 Z5.850 F6000.000 ; move to next layer (9)
G1 X100.572 Y96.564 F6000.000 ; move to first perimeter point
G1 E0.30000 F30000.00000 ; unretract


But it simply didn't work at all. The print just kept on going as if the @Pause command were not there. The problem is, Repetier is case-sensitive. The command needs to be "@pause" not "@Pause".
Code: Select all
G1 X87.526 Y99.536 E0.40047 F494.522 ; infill
G1 E0.10047 F30000.00000 ; retract
@pause Paused
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance
G1 Z5.850 F6000.000 ; move to next layer (9)
G1 X100.572 Y96.564 F6000.000 ; move to first perimeter point
G1 E0.30000 F30000.00000 ; unretract


Now the next problem is, the pause command doesn't take effect synchronously. In other words, you can see above that I told it to pause before moving to layer (9) - but the pause didn't take effect until after the printer had already moved to layer 9 and printed several traces - blocking the opening I wanted! Is this something I could fix in Repetier by setting the "Receive Cache Size" to 1 or 2 under "Config" . "Printer Settings"?
  • 0

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 4936
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 495

How to use @pause in Repetier [SOLVED]

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: How to use @pause in Repetier [SOLVED]

Postby RetireeJay » 2016-Jun-Wed-14-Jun

Well, the answer is that the way Slic3r counts layers is different from the way Repetier counts layers.

Slic3r's G-code starts with (un-labeled) Layer 0, and the first layer above that is labeled Layer (1) etc. But Repetier starts by counting the first layer as Layer 1. So when I used Repetier's Visualization "Show Layer Range" to see the layer that I wanted to stop at, the count according to Repetier (9) was one higher than the count according to Slic3r. When I searched for the layer to stop in the G-code, I was searching for tags produced by Slic3r, not Repetier, so I was off by one.

You do need to use lowercase for the @pause command, but an "information parameter" following the @pause is optional, not required.
  • 0

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3
User avatar
RetireeJay
My next printer is...
 
Posts: 4936
Joined: 2013-Jan-Wed-13-Jan
Location: Greenville, SC
Reputation: 495


Return to Software usage talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron