Cura keeps resetting itself

Talk about using software tools, drivers etc

Cura keeps resetting itself

Postby young gun » 2016-Jan-Sun-15-Jan

Hi all,

I did a quick search but didn't find anything on the topic, apologies in advance of its already been discussed.

So I've had my Printrbot Simple Metal for probably around a month now and pretty happy with its performance, we have an Ultimaker 2 at the office and it compares favorably!

The odd thing I'm having at home is Cura 15.04.3 (I think, whatever the latest version is) keeps resetting itself every time I need to relaunch it, which right now, is everytime after a print is finished because Cura will hang once the jobs done?! Everytime I relaunch, Cura will ask me what printer I'm using and go through the whole initial setup routine which frankly is getting a bit annoying now :D it sometimes retains the settings from the last print, sometimes not, it's pretty inconsistent.

I'm currently using a Gigabyte Q2005 Netbook running Windows 7 to handle Cura which bar one or 2 issues has been fine. Anybody have an idea why Cura keeps resetting itself? I use Cura at work and I've never experienced this issue.
  • 0

young gun
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2016-Jan-Sun-02-Jan
Reputation: 0

Cura keeps resetting itself

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Cura keeps resetting itself

Postby olendorf » 2016-Jan-Sun-15-Jan

This does happen to me also. I'm running Windows 10. I've noticed that it happens if I turn off the printer while Cura is still connected to it via USB. I am now in the habit of making sure I close all the Cura windows before turning off the printer.

Cura saves its settings is in C:\Users\Scott\.cura\15.04.2\preferences.ini
If you saved a copy of preferences.ini in that directory you could just copy it back when Cura resets itself. Then restart CURA and you'll be back to normal.
  • 0

User avatar
olendorf
Levelling print bed...
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2015-Nov-Mon-07-Nov
Location: Schenectady, NY USA
Reputation: 5

Re: Cura keeps resetting itself

Postby young gun » 2016-Jan-Mon-01-Jan

Weird, my problem is Cura hangs after a print so I have no choice but to crash it. I wonder if it has anything to do with the PC?

Thanks for the info btw! I'm an Apple guy, have really looked at windows since XP days :D
  • 0

young gun
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2016-Jan-Sun-02-Jan
Reputation: 0

Re: Cura keeps resetting itself

Postby young gun » 2016-Jan-Wed-01-Jan

So problem solved. It turned out to be either a dodgy USB Hub or a dodgy USB cable. I replaced the chain and everything works great now :)
  • 0

young gun
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2016-Jan-Sun-02-Jan
Reputation: 0

Cura keeps resetting itself

Postby Warnerprurn » 2019-Jan-Thu-18-Jan

Hows the new Cura compared to S3D?

Has anybody tried the new Cura Cubic 3D infill? Stronger parts?
  • 0

Warnerprurn
 


Return to Software usage talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests