Page 1 of 1

Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Wed-19-Mar
by The Virus
When I'm printing using Cura my hardrive freespace is being filled as if Cura's logging every movement, I've used 35 Gb of space and cannot find where all this is being stored or why. Anyone have any insight?

Im running OSX 10.7.5, Cura 15.02.1 with Printrbot metal plus.

Any help would be awesome since my drive is now full and Im stuck.

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Thu-21-Mar
by thawkins
The Virus wrote:When I'm printing using Cura my hardrive freespace is being filled as if Cura's logging every movement, I've used 35 Gb of space and cannot find where all this is being stored or why. Anyone have any insight?

Im running ISX 10.7.5, Cura 15.02.1 with Printrbot metal plus.

Any help would be awesome since my drive is now full and Im stuck.


What operating system are you using

If linux based the output files will be in /tmp

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-06-Mar
by orangefurball
thawkins wrote:What operating system are you using

If linux based the output files will be in /tmp


Cough cough

The Virus wrote:Im running OSX 10.7.5, Cura 15.02.1 with Printrbot metal plus.

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-08-Mar
by thawkins
orangefurball wrote:
thawkins wrote:What operating system are you using

If linux based the output files will be in /tmp


Cough cough

The Virus wrote:Im running OSX 10.7.5, Cura 15.02.1 with Printrbot metal plus.


Oops missed that

Ok on osx the

Temp files are in either
/var/tmp
or
/private/tmp


If you want to see them in finder then open a command shell and type

sudo open /private/tmp
sudo open /var/tmp

A finder window should open with the folder contents in view and root rights so you can delete files.

Be carefull as you will have root permissions in that window, once you have inspected the contents and deleted any temps that are relevant then close the window. dont leave it open a second longer than it needs to be.

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-16-Mar
by PxT
thawkins wrote:If you want to see them in finder then open a command shell and type

sudo open /private/tmp
sudo open /var/tmp


Absolutely no reason to use sudo for that, you can open either of those as a normal user. If you need to authenticate to delete a particular file then Finder will prompt for that.

You can also just hit Cmd-Shift-G from any open Finder window (or choose the Go -> Go To Folder… menu item) and then type the path to go directly to a chosen directory.

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-21-Mar
by The Virus
I located some files in those folders named:
in /private/temp
KSOutOfProcessFetcher.501.IW-ShwaXJwmHlkfc5wb2ZMHOaJY=
launch-cRRMfh
launch-hsz6ZS
launch-TGeFaN
launch-Xcr8KV
launchd-145.Q8Vdpv
launchd-373.fLuY7M
launchd-559.O8nqr2

all appear to contain nothing other than the first file in the list. That contains ksfetch a 514kb unix executable file.

/temp contains only
launchd which has 0kb

Im kinda stuck here (obviously). It's using around 1Gb ever 2 or 3 minutes of printing.

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-21-Mar
by orangefurball
The Virus wrote:I located some files in those folders named:
in /private/temp
KSOutOfProcessFetcher.501.IW-ShwaXJwmHlkfc5wb2ZMHOaJY=
launch-cRRMfh
launch-hsz6ZS
launch-TGeFaN
launch-Xcr8KV
launchd-145.Q8Vdpv
launchd-373.fLuY7M
launchd-559.O8nqr2

all appear to contain nothing other than the first file in the list. That contains ksfetch a 514kb unix executable file.

/temp contains only
launchd which has 0kb

Im kinda stuck here (obviously). It's using around 1Gb ever 2 or 3 minutes of printing.

Are you on the latest Cura? My Macbook is fine when printing. Just uses the space for the GCode

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-21-Mar
by The Virus
I also tries a print in Repetier and the same results..........

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-21-Mar
by orangefurball
The Virus wrote:I also tries a print in Repetier and the same results..........

Are you using Curaengine in Repetier? or Slic3r?

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Fri-23-Mar
by The Virus
I was using Slic3r in Repetier........

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Sat-07-Mar
by RetireeJay
Repetier does create a log file, but it shouldn't be anywhere near that large.

I'm on Windows, using the latest Repetier, and last night I finished a 6-hour print. The log file is 27,731 KB (under 28 Megabytes, or 0.028 Gig). That's in 360 minutes of printing.

So there is something very strange if you are seeing 1 Gig used up every 2 or 3 minutes. That's like a video rate, in the ballpark of 5 to 10 Meg per second. Is it somehow storing a copy of the progress picture every time it refreshes? Check the settings for your screen video adapter.

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Sat-14-Mar
by PxT
Get Daisy Disk and find out exactly what is filling up your space: http://www.daisydiskapp.com

Re: Cura filling my hardrive during printing

PostPosted: 2015-Mar-Sat-20-Mar
by thawkins
PxT wrote:Get Daisy Disk and find out exactly what is filling up your space: http://www.daisydiskapp.com


Or you could find the folder with the most data in it, the following instructions are for linux, but they will also work with mac osx which is unix based.

http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/how-do-i-f ... ilesystem/