Problems with the G29 in Cura

Troubleshooting talk for software

Problems with the G29 in Cura

Postby Roadrunner77 » 2015-Jan-Mon-17-Jan

Hello,

I have a problem with the G29 start G-code commend when using Cura.
The actual problem is the hight of the Z-axis after I started a print. Everything seems to work fine for the probing of the 3 points but when the printer actual starts to print the Z-axis it is too far above the print bed.
The results are partial drops on the brintbed which do not stick at all.
When using Cura without it everything works perfectly.
It is not such a big issue, as I can still print everything but I still wonder what might be wrong here.
The Z-probe seems to be fine (wiring, calibration, etc.). I assume it's a software issue in Cura as the normal print, without the G29 commend works well.
I would appreciate any help.

Kind regards
  • 0

Roadrunner77
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-Jan-Mon-17-Jan
Reputation: 0

Problems with the G29 in Cura

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Problems with the G29 in Cura

Postby musk » 2015-Jan-Mon-17-Jan

Have you calibrated the Z probe offset? It is mandatory for proper adhesion.
  • 0

Printrbot Metal Plus (2x)
Printrbot Simple Metal (2x)
musk
Solid infill...
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 2014-Aug-Sun-22-Aug
Reputation: 23

Re: Problems with the G29 in Cura

Postby dsegel » 2015-Jan-Mon-18-Jan

Also make sure the probe is reasonably close to the bed when you start the G29 process. If it's more than about 30mm up then I get all kinds of weird responses, like it goes through the motions and acts like it's leveling, but it never goes down to the bed, and then it starts printing in mid-air.
  • 1

dsegel
Waiting for printbed temp...
 
Posts: 109
Joined: 2014-Sep-Mon-12-Sep
Reputation: 3

Re: Problems with the G29 in Cura

Postby thawkins » 2015-Jan-Mon-19-Jan

Roadrunner77 wrote:Hello,

I have a problem with the G29 start G-code commend when using Cura.
The actual problem is the hight of the Z-axis after I started a print. Everything seems to work fine for the probing of the 3 points but when the printer actual starts to print the Z-axis it is too far above the print bed.
The results are partial drops on the brintbed which do not stick at all.
When using Cura without it everything works perfectly.
It is not such a big issue, as I can still print everything but I still wonder what might be wrong here.
The Z-probe seems to be fine (wiring, calibration, etc.). I assume it's a software issue in Cura as the normal print, without the G29 commend works well.
I would appreciate any help.

Kind regards


Can you list what you have as your start gcode.
  • 0

Jonbot+
225mm x 200mm - Heated Bed
RAMPS 1.4 running Marlin 1.1.0
Full Graphic display.
-------------------------------
Zen Toolworks CNC/3d printer
230mmx360mm bed
Dual j-head hotends.
Dual heated beds.
RAMPS 1.4 running Marlin 0.98
-------------------------------
Flashforge 3d Creator Pro
Dual Extruder
220x143x150mm
Mightyboard rev e, runnimg Sailfish 7.7r1234
-------------------------------
Photon, self designed printed printer.
User avatar
thawkins
Print winner 2nd
Print winner 2nd
 
Posts: 1636
Joined: 2013-Aug-Sun-10-Aug
Location: Manila, Philippines
Reputation: 172

Re: Problems with the G29 in Cura

Postby Roadrunner77 » 2015-Jan-Wed-16-Jan

Hello everybody,

thanks for your quick response to my request. I still have the problem with the Z-axis offset.

@musk: Yes I calibrated the Z probe and checked my adjustment. I did this according to the user manual and an online guide I found on Youtube.
As I stated in my original post, without the G29 commend in the start G-Code everything works great, so I assume the calibration is correct?!

@dsegel: I tried several starting positions, but no changes.
My starting point is:
< X:0.00Y:152.40Z:0.90E:0.00 Count X: 0.00Y:152.40Z:0.90


@thawkins: My start gcode looks as follow:

;Sliced at: {day} {date} {time}
;Basic settings: Layer height: {layer_height} Walls: {wall_thickness} Fill: {fill_density}
;Print time: {print_time}
;Filament used: {filament_amount}m {filament_weight}g
;Filament cost: {filament_cost}
;M190 S{print_bed_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own bed temperature line
;M109 S{print_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own temperature line
G21 ;metric values
G90 ;absolute positioning
M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode
M107 ;start with the fan off
G28 X0 Y0 ;move X/Y to min endstops
G28 Z0 ;move Z to min endstops
G29
G1 Z15.0 F{travel_speed} ;move the platform down 15mm
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E3 ;extrude 3mm of feed stock
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again
G1 F{travel_speed}
;Put printing message on LCD screen
M117 Printing...

Regards
  • 0

Roadrunner77
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-Jan-Mon-17-Jan
Reputation: 0


Return to Troubleshooting talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron