Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Troubleshooting talk for software

Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby brantm » 2012-Dec-Tue-19-Dec

I have a rev D. printrboard. I am running MacOS X 10.8.2 on my computer.

I was able to compile the firmware and I have it ready to load onto my printrboard. I was also able to get the printrboard into the proper mode to load the firmware.

When I type system_profiler SPUSBDataType (similar to lsusb), I see (in part):

AVR CDC Bootloader:

Product ID: 0x204a
Vendor ID: 0x03eb (Atmel Corporation)
Version: 1.00
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Location ID: 0xfa130000 / 6
Current Available (mA): 500
Current Required (mA): 100


which leads me to believe that my printrboard is in the proper mode to load firmware.

I installed dfu-programmer onto my computer. When I try the following command: dfu-programmer at90usb1286 erase, I see an error "dfu-programmer: no device present."

I'm sure I must have done something wrong when I setup dfu-programmer, but it is not clear what I did. This version does talk about the at90usb1286 device when you type "dfu-programmer".

Edit: I also tried running dfu-programmer using sudo. It gave the same behavior. I also tried at90usb1287, at90usb1287-4k, and at90usb1286-4k as those are options listed. Still no joy.

Any advice appreciated.
  • 0

brantm
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-Dec-Tue-19-Dec
Reputation: 0

Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby lwalkera » 2012-Dec-Tue-20-Dec

You probably bought your board from someone other than printrbot, which means your board is loaded with the CDC bootloader, not the DFU bootloader. You'll need to use avrdude to load new firmware. Also note that the CDC bootloader is limited to 64k program size, compared to the full 128k in the DFU bootloader. If your firmware image is for more than 64k, you'll have issues.
  • 0

Laine Walker-Avina
Printrbot Beta-tester and Printrboard Designer
lwalkera
Honeycomb infill 25%...
 
Posts: 291
Joined: 2012-Feb-Sat-04-Feb
Location: Folsom, CA
Reputation: 33

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby brantm » 2012-Dec-Tue-21-Dec

Thank you so much for the info. Yes, I bought the board from MakerFarm.

The hex file I created shows up as 132K in the Mac Finder, so I am guessing it would not load if I could load it.

Is it possible to change to the DFU boot loader (with the board I have)?

So, I would also need to find info for loading firmware with the CDC bootloader. I had been using instructions in the Printrbot Firmware Guide. Is it the case that these intructions only apply to boards with the DFU bootloader?
  • 0

brantm
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-Dec-Tue-19-Dec
Reputation: 0

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby lwalkera » 2012-Dec-Wed-13-Dec

The 64k limit is on the data encoded in the hex file, not the size of the hex file itself. You can change to the DFU bootloader if you have an AVR programming cable that can connect to the 6-pin ISP connector on the board. To load new firmware, you can use avrdude or a properly configured Arduino IDE. See http://reprap.org/wiki/Printrboard#Software for more info.
  • 0

Laine Walker-Avina
Printrbot Beta-tester and Printrboard Designer
lwalkera
Honeycomb infill 25%...
 
Posts: 291
Joined: 2012-Feb-Sat-04-Feb
Location: Folsom, CA
Reputation: 33

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby Fahraynk » 2013-May-Fri-13-May

wow im also having issues uploading firmware to makerfarm board and there not much help either ! did you resolve this issue?
  • 0

Fahraynk
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2013-Mar-Fri-15-Mar
Reputation: 0

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby bplemmons » 2013-Jul-Tue-12-Jul

I have been using the makerfarm install directions for cdc and trying to upload the firmware with Aurdrino and the plugins that are required. I am able to connect to the card but when it is done I get an error that says:
Avrdude error buffer memory access not supported.
How can I tell what firmware is actually on the card?

Bill
  • 0

bplemmons
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-Jul-Tue-11-Jul
Reputation: 0

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby Jacob » 2013-Aug-Thu-17-Aug

I am having the same issue with firmware upload. Seems easy enough in theory. On pc I am getting no usb found through flip...even though I manually loaded drivers on mac I am getting DFU-PROGRAMMER - NO DEVICE EXISTS even though I can connect to it through repetier.
  • 0

Jacob
Loading filament...
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 2013-Feb-Sun-03-Feb
Reputation: 0

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby PxT » 2013-Aug-Thu-18-Aug

Sounds like you are not getting it into DFU mode correctly. Which revision printrboard do you have?
  • 0

User avatar
PxT
Print complete...
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: 2011-Dec-Mon-16-Dec
Location: Sacramento, CA
Reputation: 97

Re: Trouble trying to load new firmware on my Printrboard

Postby KDog » 2013-Aug-Thu-23-Aug

I've been able to reflash my MakerFarm Printrboard many times using the Arduino software and a Mac. Some instructions tell you to remove or replace (depending on the board version) the jumper, reset the board and replace or remove the jumper again before flashing. I find that I need to flash before removing it again (I have revD). Arduino can't find my board otherwise.
  • 0

Printrbot Metal Simple
Printrbot Original (printed on a PBJ)
Dec. 2013 ..... Kossel PRO (still waiting for it to arrive!!!)
KDog
Layer 300 of 1234
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 2013-Jul-Fri-17-Jul
Location: Honolulu
Reputation: 21


Return to Troubleshooting talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron