Printrboard rev d bootloader flash

Troubleshooting talk for software

Postby Kevin37 » 2016-Sep-Thu-14-Sep

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section but I'm new to this and I need some help. I bought a 3d pringer with a printrboard rev d circuit board and it shorted. So I needed to replace the microcontroller (atmel 90usb1286).
I have done this successfully but now I am challenged with loading the bootloader and I am stuck. I got the pc to recognize the board usin the atmel flip drivers but keep getting an error when trying to load the hex file (address is out of range) this is my first time using this product and I am lost. I also tried to do it via usbtinyisp I bought off amazon but that fails to even register being hooked up to the pc and I also have never used avrdude and again am also lost. The only thing I have used is arduino ideand all the youtube videos aND Web content are confusing. I have posted pictures of the printrboard and the usbtinyisp I am using, any help would be appreciated. Thank you

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Kevin37
Waiting to connect to printer...

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Printrboard rev d bootloader flash

Postby RetireeJay » 2016-Sep-Thu-15-Sep

The ICSP module that you got is different from the one that I got (Geppetto Electronics), so I'm not sure how it should act. Maybe it gets power from the board instead of from the USB cable? Mine has a switch to select whether the MCU expects to be programmed with 3.3V or 5V, and I think the AT90USP1286 expects 3.3V. I don't see a switch on your board; do you know which voltage it uses?

I know on the ICSP that I got, it was very difficult for me to figure out which way around to plug the ICSP into the board. There's a 50% chance of getting it wrong. (Oh, and by the way, I think my MCU was partially fried; I couldn't successfully program it either with FLIP or with the ICSP, so I don't have a complete success story to relate.)