Calibration Settings for Printrbot Simple 1401, Repetier

Troubleshooting talk for software

Postby keeleyhaftner » 2016-Sep-Tue-14-Sep

Hello all! I go back and forth between my Duplicator i3 and Printrbot Simple Maker's Edition (1401). I print through Cura and calibrate through Pronterface and Repetier. After downloading Cura 15.04.6 I had to do some recalibration for the Duplicator, and that totally messed up my Printrbot because I didn't at the time have separate profiles in Repetier (which I was using).

WHAT ARE ALL THE BASIC APPROPRIATE CALIBRATION SETTINGS FOR THE PRINTRBOT 1401? I looked all over the Printrbot site but their legacy software only has 1402+ in the Google Drive file), and software has obviously changed since this model's first release. Everything is messed up settings-wise (prints but not at the right scale and not cleanly or centered) and I'm an artist with a deadline for printing. A fast response would be so very much appreciated!

keeleyhaftner
Waiting to connect to printer...

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Calibration Settings for Printrbot Simple 1401, Repetier

Postby RetireeJay » 2016-Sep-Tue-15-Sep

Does your Simple use fishing line to move X and Y, or does it use toothed belts? If it uses fishing line, you pretty much have to calibrate it yourself. Toothed belts have well-defined calibrations.

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
"My next printer is..." Prusa i3 MK3
RetireeJay
My next printer is...