Smudging In Same Spot

Need help troubleshooting hardware issues... talk here

Smudging In Same Spot

Postby Awhedbee22 » 2017-Jan-Sun-15-Jan

I am very new with my printer and have had very minimal success. I have a older printrbot simple metal. It seems no mater what model I print it smudges in the same area. Even if I move the model to print in different part of the board. I have already calibrated z. If I let it go it then clogs and then turns to a giant blob. Any thoughts?

IMG_1974.JPG

IMG_1973.JPG

Awhedbee22
Waiting to connect to printer...

Smudging In Same Spot

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Smudging In Same Spot

Postby RetireeJay » 2017-Jan-Sun-15-Jan

Mostly this looks like a problem with bed adhesion. The first layer has to stick well to the bed, otherwise you just end up with a blob. There are hundreds and hundreds of posts about getting good bed adhesion. Happy searching!

Printrbot Plus operational January 2013
Brass threaded rods (5/16" X 18) & nuts for Z axis
GT2 belts & pulleys
Cable chain to reduce probability of fatigue failure in wires
E3D V5 Hot End, 0.4mm nozzle, also 0.8 and 0.25 in use occasionally
PB fan mount + 40mm fan -- using printed mount adapter, not the E3D supplied fan
Injection molded extruder gears
Optical Z "endstop" (custom designed and built)
Have used many pounds of T-Glase filament. Now also doing some work with Ninjaflex SemiFlex
Print on glass with Scotch Craft Stick or other glue stick
RetireeJay
My next printer is...

Postby Awhedbee22 » 2017-Jan-Sun-16-Jan

RetireeJay wrote:Mostly this looks like a problem with bed adhesion. The first layer has to stick well to the bed, otherwise you just end up with a blob. There are hundreds and hundreds of posts about getting good bed adhesion. Happy searching!

I get great adhesion. There isn't warping bring it up or anything. In those areas it seems to push extra filament or go on top of the previous line. If I let it continue running I get a giant ball of filament.

Awhedbee22