Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Need help troubleshooting hardware issues... talk here

Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Postby foster » 2018-Oct-Mon-18-Oct

I’ve been trying to diagnose a problem with my printer and I’ve narrowed it down to a power problem.
I’m getting power into the machine, but the g2 board isn’t getting power.
I thought that the board was dead, and got a replacement board. When that didn’t work, but I tried plugging into the auxiliary power, near where the barrel port plugs in. Everything works if I plug into the auxiliary power! Which is great, but seems like I shouldn’t be relying on that.

Should I just plug I there? Or is that a bad idea (I suspect it is)?
Is this a problem that anyone else has run into that has a known fix?

I’ve been poking around with my multimeter and I can detect voltage at points near beginning of the power flow, but not where the power comes out to go to the g2 board.

Any ideas appreciated.

Thanks.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • 0

foster
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-Aug-Tue-16-Aug
Reputation: 0

Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Postby musk » 2018-Oct-Tue-12-Oct

Inside the Pro there's a separate "powrboard" which is fuse-protected and only sends power to the G2 when a relay has been activated. When the LCD screen is connected, it closes a relay and then the powrboard sends power to the G2. There are two ways to bypass this. If you want to eliminate the LCD screen, there are a couple pins you can jump to make the relays automatically close. You could also just plug a 6-pin ATX cable directly into the G2 and ignore the powrboard completely.
  • 0

Printrbot Metal Plus (2x)
Printrbot Simple Metal (2x)
musk
Solid infill...
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2014-Aug-Sun-22-Aug
Reputation: 22

Re: Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Postby foster » 2018-Oct-Wed-22-Oct

I don’t use the screen, so bypassing it would be fine. Do you know where to put the jumpers or where I can find the info?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • 0

foster
Waiting to connect to printer...
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2018-Aug-Tue-16-Aug
Reputation: 0

Re: Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Postby novice » 2018-Oct-Thu-13-Oct

Watching this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3B_ipknA8yo of Brook last week I could have swore he stated information regarding that jumper could be found on Carl's website https://ubishotends.com/simple-pro-information/, which seems to direct one to https://github.com/abdrumm/printrbot-docs. If it's in this pdf https://github.com/abdrumm/printrbot-docs/blob/master/G2-Board%20documentation.pdf ,I have yet to find it, but it's supposed to be there. Or is this not the same jumper?
  • 0

novice
I'm an end stop.
 
Posts: 74
Joined: 2018-Jan-Sat-18-Jan
Location: South of Up North
Reputation: 3

Re: Printrbot Simple Pro power problem

Postby musk » 2018-Oct-Sat-16-Oct

Here's the cleanest way to jump.
Do yourself a favor and mark the black box with something permanent for future reference if the jumper ever comes off.
  • 0

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Printrbot Metal Plus (2x)
Printrbot Simple Metal (2x)
musk
Solid infill...
 
Posts: 214
Joined: 2014-Aug-Sun-22-Aug
Reputation: 22


Return to Troubleshooting talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron