Simple 2014 needs upgrade

Postby donde » 2014-May-Sun-13-May

I'm a newbie, so I may be wrong. I have followed the leveling info for the bed using the 4 spring loaded screws. I've done the Z axis adjustment so the hotend just clears the bed with 2 pieces of printer paper with some resistance. I'm getting average prints and sometimes even above.

Here is what I have found: The Extruder motor is not level. And there is no way to adjust it right now. I used 2 levels, one a circular bubble level and the other a regular level. I put them on top of the motor. The circular level shows 1 bubble off from center. The regular level shows not level either in the same direction. To correct this, I shimmed up the rear end (power jack end) of the Simple at least a 1/4" with wooden shims. This leveled out the Extruder motor. Then I went ahead and re-leveled the bed, which had to be done again. And now I got much better prints looking straighter and more square. Quality was better!

Maybe I haven't seen this discussed in the forum, I think Printrbot should address this. An easy fix would be to add two adjustable feet to the rear as I did with wooden shims. They would look like a miniature version of adjustable feet for furniture found in any hardware store. I'm sure these parts could be printed, but I haven't found exactly what I need in Thingiverse or Yeggi. And I'm still looking. Right now I do not have the knowledge or ability to model. So, could someone please address this? I don't want to carry wooden shims in my pocket to demonstrate the great little Simple!
Thanks...donde

donde
I'm an end stop.

Sponsor

Sponsor

Re: Simple 2014 needs upgrade

Postby RetireeJay » 2014-May-Sun-13-May